Barisal City Corporation 3.87

5 star(s) from 2 votes
Download vCard Share
Add Review

About Barisal City Corporation

Barisal City Corporation Barisal City Corporation is one of the popular place listed under Landmark in Barisal , Organization in Barisal , Corporate Office in Barisal ,

Contact Details & Working Hours


Barisal City Corporation is a self-governed municipal administration in Bangladesh that administers and oversees development and maintenance works in the city of Barisal. The corporation covers an area of over 58 square kilometers in the Barisal district where over five million people live as permanent residents. The body was known as Barisal Municipality previously, until it obtained the City Corporation status by a ministry of local government declaration on 25 July 2002.HistoryTo provide civil service and facilities to the inhabitants, Barisal Town Committee was formed in 1969 under Act VI of 1868 with the District Magistrate as its Chairman. J. C Price was the first Chairman of the Town Committee. It was upgraded to Barisal municipality in 1876 under the Manicipal Act of 1876. It was then managed by a Committee, of which the District Magistrate was President, and was aided by Government with establishment grants. It remained as a municipality for over 130 years though the number of population have been rising with time. Later in 2001, the ministry of local government meeting on declared to turn two divisional headquarter, Barisal and Sylhet to City Corporations and passed "Barisal City Corporation Act, 2001". An administrative move was made abolishing the Barisal Municipality as the final step to introduce the administrative body as a city corporation. Later on 25 July 2002, the municipality was officially upgraded as Barisal City Corporation.AdministrationThe city corporation is run by a joint staff of elected public representatives and government officials. Officials both come from departmental recruitment and the administrative cadre service of the country. The area of BCC is divided into 4 thanas: Kotwali, Kawnia, Bandar and Airport. The thanas are subdivided into 30 wards and 225 mahallas. It is administrated by 30 councilors, 9 woman councilors and the mayor elected by the local government election which sits in the office for a five-year tenure.

Map Barisal City Corporation

Review Barisal City Corporation

   Loading comments-box...